IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )


 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> (****) Adding a third side
The DvD
post Oct 9 2006, 10:49 PM
Post #1


Webmaster
Group Icon

Group: Root Admin
Posts: 740
Joined: 27-May 06
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2
Alliance: Nod
Favorite game: Tiberian Sun



Originally posted by biggs darklighter here:

http://tiberiumsun.revora.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3319

There's quite a bit of discussion in that thread which you may find interesting or beneficial to your modding effort.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alright people. Here it is.

This tutorial might be a bit inaccurate, so correct me if i'm wrong.

STEP 1: Building Prerequisites
In the first part of your rules.ini file, search for the building prerequisites
section. In here, add the code of the buildings you have chosen to
represent the entries.

; Building prerequisite categories are specified here.
PrerequisitePower=GAPOWR,NAPOWR,NAAPWR,AAPOWR
PrerequisiteFactory=GAWEAP,NAWEAP,AAWEAP
PrerequisiteBarracks=NAHAND,GAPILE,AABRAK
PrerequisiteRadar=GARADR,NARADR,AARADR
PrerequisiteTech=GATECH,NATECH,AATECH

(AA can be replaced by any numbers of letters)
Overall, the code you put after the others can be anything you
like, as long as it's easy to remember.

STEP 2: Type Lists
The next step requires listing the units/structures you will want in
your side. Firstly, changed the SideTypesList:

; *** House (players) List ***
[Houses]
0=GDI
1=Nod
2=AAA (replace this with any name you want)
3=Neutral
4=Special

As you can see above, it is crucial that the entry comes before the
Neutral and Special entries. Next go to this bit:

; ******* Side Type List *******
[Sides]
GDI=GDI
Nod=Nod
AAA=AAA (so tibsun knows that this is an independant side)
Civilian=Neutral
Mutant=Special

Again, keep it above the last two sides. Now you can proceed with the
units & structures.

; ******* Infantry Type List *******
[InfantryTypes]
xx=GUNMAN
xx=E4

(xx can be replaced by any number greater than the last number being
used in the list.) You can name the infantry guys what you want.

; ******* Building Type List *******
[BuildingTypes]
xxx=AACNST
xxx=AAPOWR
xxx=AAWEAP
xxx=AARADR
xxx=AABRAK
xxx=AATECH

You can add more if you want, but the buildings in your side must
match the buildings you named in STEP 1.

; ******* Aircraft Type List *******
[AircraftTypes]

This section is for Aircraft (duh!). I haven't created any this time.

; ******* Vehicle Type List *******
[VehicleTypes]
xx=AAMCV (required)
xx=NAMCV (required)
xx=5TNK
xx=FLAMTNK

Those are the vehicle lists. The two MCV's are required because we
need one for each side. The two others are just examples.

STEP 3: Country Stats
; ******* Country Statistics *******
This is the section where you'll give your side some personality. Type
this is between Nod and Neutral:

[AAA]
Name=AAA
Suffix=AAA
Prefix=A
Color=(Red,Yellow,Green,Blue,Orange,Gold,Purple)
Multiplay=yes
Side=AAA

Again, AAA can be replaced by your name. Above are some colors
you can choose from, and more variations can be accessed by adding
Dark or Light in front. For example: DarkGreen. Keep the two words
starting with capitals at all times.

STEP 4: Creating your Units
Now we can create our units. Starting with vehicles, go to the vehicle
you want to clone for you own, highlight it, CTRL+C then go to a
blank space somewhere and CTRL+V. Use my FLAMTNK for example:

; Clone of Subterranean APC
[FLAMTNK] (new coding (HAS TO BE SAME AS THE ONE IN LIST!!))
Name=Flame Tank (new name)
Image=SAPC (I had to put this in otherwise it would be invisible)
Prerequisite=AAWEAP
Strength=300
Category=AFV
DeployTime=.022
Primary=FireballLauncher (I had to make a new entry for weapon)
Armor=light
Turret=no
IsTilter=yes
TechLevel=6
Sight=5
Speed=5
CrateGoodie=yes
Owner=AAA (new side!!)
AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no (always keep this as no)
Cost=600
Points=25
ROT=5
Crusher=yes
Passengers=5
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=25-I000,25-I002,25-I004,25-I006
VoiceMove=25-I012,25-I014,25-I016,25-I018,25-I022
VoiceAttack=25-I014,25-I022,25-I024,25-I026
VoiceFeedback=
MaxDebris=4
Locomotor={4A582743-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
MovementZone=Subterannean
ThreatPosed=10 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
SpecialThreatValue=1
ZFudgeColumn=7
ZFudgeTunnel=13

So there's our Flame Tank. Do the same for each unit and make sure
the 'AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=' stays no. Remember to change the
code in the [ ] to the codes you used in the UnitTypes lists otherwise
they won't work. To balance this, all of the added units will need an
Image= entry. Just put the code that you deleted from the [ ] into
here to keep things simple.

; Mobile Construction Vehicle
[AAMCV]
Name=Mobile Construction Vehicle
Image=MCV
Prerequisite=FACTORY,TECH
Strength=1000
Category=Support
Armor=heavy
DeploysInto=AACNST
TechLevel=10
Sight=6
Speed=3
Owner=AAA
CrateGoodie=yes
Cost=2500
Points=60
ROT=5
Crewed=yes
Crusher=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=25-I000,25-I002,25-I004,25-I006
VoiceMove=25-I012,25-I014,25-I016,25-I018,25-I022
VoiceAttack=25-I014,25-I022,25-I024,25-I026
VoiceFeedback=
MaxDebris=6
Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
Weight=3.5
MovementZone=Normal
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
SpecialThreatValue=1
ZFudgeColumn=12
ZFudgeTunnel=15

; Mobile Construction Vehicle
[NAMCV]
Name=Mobile Construction Vehicle
Prerequisite=FACTORY,TECH
Strength=1000
Category=Support
Armor=heavy
DeploysInto=GACNST
TechLevel=10
Sight=6
Speed=3
Owner=Nod
CrateGoodie=yes
Cost=2500
Points=60
ROT=5
Crewed=yes
Crusher=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=25-I000,25-I002,25-I004,25-I006
VoiceMove=25-I012,25-I014,25-I016,25-I018,25-I022
VoiceAttack=25-I014,25-I022,25-I024,25-I026
VoiceFeedback=
MaxDebris=6
Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
Weight=3.5
MovementZone=Normal
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
SpecialThreatValue=1
ZFudgeColumn=12
ZFudgeTunnel=15

; Mobile Construction Vehicle
[MCV]
Name=Mobile Construction Vehicle
Prerequisite=FACTORY,TECH
Strength=1000
Category=Support
Armor=heavy
DeploysInto=GACNST
TechLevel=10
Sight=6
Speed=3
Owner=GDI
CrateGoodie=yes
Cost=2500
Points=60
ROT=5
Crewed=yes
Crusher=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
VoiceSelect=25-I000,25-I002,25-I004,25-I006
VoiceMove=25-I012,25-I014,25-I016,25-I018,25-I022
VoiceAttack=25-I014,25-I022,25-I024,25-I026
VoiceFeedback=
MaxDebris=6
Locomotor={4A582741-9839-11d1-B709-00A024DDAFD1}
Weight=3.5
MovementZone=Normal
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys
SpecialThreatValue=1
ZFudgeColumn=12
ZFudgeTunnel=15

Those are the MCV's, notice each three of them go to different sides.
GDI and Nod both deploy into GACNST, and AAMCV deploys into
the AACNST.

STEP 5: Building Creation
This bit gets a bit more tricky, as there are glitches to watch out
for. So here goes:

; Clone of GDI weapons factory
[AAWEAP] (remember coding)
Name=AAA War Factory (new name)
Image=GAWEAP (remember image)
WeaponsFactory=yes
Prerequisite=PROC,AABRAK
Factory=UnitType
DeployTime=.044
Strength=1000
Armor=heavy
TechLevel=2
Sight=4
Adjacent=2
Owner=AAA,Civilian (new side)
Cost=2000
Points=80
Power=-30
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Bib=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=8
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=408, 880, 435
AIBuildThis=yes

Now you may wonder why civilian is with AAA on the owner's entry.
That was neccessary to allow the building to be built.

; clone of advanced tech center
[AATECH]
Name=AAA Tech Center
Image=GATECH
Prerequisite=AAWEAP,AARADR
Strength=500
Armor=wood
TechLevel=6
Adjacent=2
Sight=6
Owner=AAA,Civilian
Cost=1500
Points=85
Power=-200
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=5
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=1500, 1055, 815
AIBuildThis=yes
TogglePower=no

This is the Tech Center.

; clone ofconstruction yard
[AACNST]
Name=AAA Construction Yard
Image=GACNST
ConstructionYard=yes
Strength=1000
Armor=heavy
TechLevel=-1
Adjacent=2
Factory=BuildingType
UndeploysInto=AAMCV
Sight=6
Owner=AAA,Civilian
Cost=2500
Points=80
Power=0
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=10
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=1470, 1060, 1078
AIBuildThis=yes
TogglePower=no

Make sure the ConYard undeploys into the AAMCV, and that the
sides are correct.

; clone of gdi power plant
[AAPOWR]
Name=AAA Power Plant
Image=GAPOWR
Strength=750
Armor=wood
TechLevel=1
Prerequisite=AACNST (I had to add this entry)
Adjacent=2
Sight=4
Owner=AAA,Civilian
Cost=300
Points=40
Power=100
Capturable=true
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
Upgrades=2
MaxDebris=6
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=300, 300, 450
TogglePower=no

The Power Plant (remember to add Prerequisites entry)

; clone of GDI Barracks
[AABRAK]
Name=AAA Barracks
Image=GAPILE
Prerequisite=POWER
Strength=800
Armor=wood
Factory=InfantryType
Adjacent=2
TechLevel=1
Sight=5
Owner=AAA,Civilian
Cost=300
Points=30
Power=-20
Crewed=yes
Capturable=true
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=4
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
ExitCoord = -64,64,0
GDIBarracks=yes
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=215, 395, 200
AIBuildThis=yes

And finally...

;clone of NOD Radar Facility
[AARADR]
Name=AAA Radar
Image=NARADR
Prerequisite=PROC
Strength=1000
Radar=yes
Armor=wood
TechLevel=3
Adjacent=2
Sight=10
Owner=AAA,Civilian
Cost=1000
Points=60
Power=-40
Powered=true
Capturable=true
Sensors=yes
Crewed=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
MaxDebris=4
ThreatPosed=0 ; This value MUST be 0 for all building addons
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=220, 390, 150
AIBuildThis=yes

Which brings us to the end of our units/structures creating (whew).

STEP 6: Finishing Touches
Now we can just go over things we've already done and double check.
Also, go to every vehicle/infantry object and give them:

AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no

Apart from the 3 MCV's that you created. Go to Multiplayer Defaults
section and set the starting units to one. In skirmish, you will end
up with one MCV with no escort but a working side!


--------------------
Please contact me on msn if you need me for anything, thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
: | +Quote Post
Scorch
post Jun 21 2008, 05:20 PM
Post #2


Commando
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 519
Joined: 4-January 08
From: New home -_-
Member No.: 1,092
Alliance: GDI
Favorite game: Tiberian Sun



Uber Bump! (But also the first reply.)

I used this tutorial to make a third side, which for now is simply named Army. (I need to do a lot before I will change the name.)

Anyway, I set the sides, houses, and so on, and so is all correct, although I had to change some of the stuff and add a few tags under the "[ARMY]" for the side to be playable in Skirmish and multiplayer. I created the basic structures you said had to be created for the third side to work, and they are in there. (I found that out by using FinalSun.) I have four infantry already for the side, and I did exactly what you said had to be done. (By changing what was between [] and AllowedToStartInMultiplayer=no.) So these should work, too. I couldn't figure out how to set the UnitCount for how many units a player starts off at the beginning of the game, so I just set it to one before I started playing. So, I've done what I was told to do, and the side worked, but with a problem. When the game starts, I still start off with a MCV, no escorts, but when I deploy the MCV I am unable to build anything. I've gone through Rules.INI, and I made sure everything was correct, but nothing works. (I made sure the power plant's prerequisite was the conyard, but when I deploy the MCV I am unable to build the power plant!)

Please help me?
Go to the top of the page
 
: | +Quote Post
CommanderSpartan
post Jun 21 2008, 05:33 PM
Post #3


Cyborg
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 358
Joined: 24-June 07
From: The Ark
Member No.: 969
Alliance: GDI
Favorite game: Tiberian Sun



Huh.... well try making it so that the power plant has no prerequisite.


--------------------
The one true rule of halo is Kill or be Killed.
Go to the top of the page
 
: | +Quote Post
Scorch
post Jun 21 2008, 07:49 PM
Post #4


Commando
Group Icon

Group: Members
Posts: 519
Joined: 4-January 08
From: New home -_-
Member No.: 1,092
Alliance: GDI
Favorite game: Tiberian Sun



I did that just now, the icon appears in the side-bar but it's somewhat shaded and it won't let me select it.
Go to the top of the page
 
: | +Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:00 PM


XGhozt.com